Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year

 

Merry Christmas,

I wish all the best for you and your loved ones this holiday season, and that your hopes and dreams come true in the new year. May I ask, what is your new years resolution?

Last year I made a resolution to better stay in touch with good friends. It’s been so much fun catching up with long lost schoolmates,fraternity brothers, coworkers, and buddies. I’m gonna try to keep it up. I found that the biggest obstacle to deep connections is the shallow connections one has on Facebook, or on forums like Reddit. It’s an obstacle to other kinds of happiness in life too. So this year my new years resolution is to wean myself off of a kind of internet addiction that keeps me chasing the next update, next meme, etc. Instead of surface-level stuff I hope to get lots more depth through conversations (chat or phone), books, and reflection, in the new year.

What’s your new years resolution?

What did you think?

